top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturewanderbabexo

Boston Travel Guide


I was born and raised in Boston until I was 7 years old. I’ve been in Texas for the last 20 years, but my heart and most of my family is still in Massachusetts. I never get tired of visiting, or doing the “touristy” things in the city.

I always tell everyone that they have to visit, because there is SO much history, and so much gorgeous architecture. And it’s right on the ocean. So that’s obvious. I’m going to break this travel guide down into my favorite neighborhoods in Boston. This barely scrapes the service, but I’ll write a part two soon.


North End

The North End, also known as the Italian section of Boston, is your go to spot for authentic Italian food and cannolis. You honestly can’t go wrong with any of the mom & pop restaurants here but a few of my favorites are Parla, Mamma Mia, Giacomo's.

And of course, you have to stop for cannolis after dinner. And then bring a dozen home with you. Mike’s Pastry is the most famed shop in the North End, however another great one with lesser lines is Modern Pastry.

To do here: Mike’s Pastry, admire the architecture, eat at Parla, see the Paul Revere house


Beacon Hill

This was my first time actually spending a lot of time in Beacon Hill. We took the T and walked through the gorgeous Boston Common to get there. Once you’re on Charles Street, you can take a look at all of the adorable shops and buildings. And of course, head to the most photographed street in America (see below), Acorn Street. The residents of the street are SO over it, but it’s really cool.

To do here: take pictures on Acorn Street (pictured below), have a drink at Cheers, walk Boston Common, Explore Charles Street



Faneuil Hall

Now this is one of my favorite places to spend hoursssss. Especially at Christmas time, they put up a gigantic Christmas tree and it is just so gorgeous. There are a ton of shops to walk around to, and then they have sort of an inside food hall, with tons of different vendors where you can get as much chowder that your heart desires.

It’s also a pretty quick walk to TD Garden (where the Bruins & Celtics play) if you want to catch a game a after.

To do here: Shop & eat at Faneuil Hall, go to the gift shop & Bobby Orr statue at TD Garden, take a Duck Tour


Seaport District

The Seaport District has been up and coming for the last few years. I love walking around here, especially during the summer because there are always fun shopping pop ups and great food. If you go in the winter months, you MUST go to the Igloo rooftop bar at the Envoy

To Do here: Walk along the waterfront, grab coffee at Tatte & go shopping at One Seaport

Where you need to grab a drink: The Liberty Hotel (used to be a prison, love the history), OAK Bar at The Fairmont Copley Plaza



Pro Tip: The best way to get around in the city is to take the T. It’s Boston’s subway system and if you’re trying to get from neighborhood to neighborhood, and aren’t much of a walker like me, it’s the best way to go. Albeit, slightly intimidating, but it’s the city. Just act like you know what you’re doing.

I honestly could go on and on about the beautiful city of Boston, but I’ll stop here for now. There are so many fun spots just outside of Boston as well, such as Salem, Manchester, and Gloucester. Stay tuned….

37 views0 comments
bottom of page